Tampa Bay Times Editorial: “They value guns, not kids”

 In News

They value guns over kids

Six days after 17 were killed at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High by a teen-ager firing an AR-15 semi-automatic rifle, the Florida House refused to even debate a bill banning the sale of assault weapons. The vote, 71 to 36, wasn’t close as Douglas High students watched from the gallery. Voters in November should hold accountable legislators who value assault rifles more than children. As one student tweeted after the vote, “How could they do that to us?’’

FOR GUNS

Tampa Bay legislators

Larry Ahern, R-Seminole

(850) 717-5066 • Larry.Ahern@myfloridahouse.gov

Danny Burgess, R-Zephyrhills

(850) 717-5038 • Danny.Burgess@myfloridahouse.gov

Richard Corcoran, R-Land O’Lakes

(850) 717-5000 • Richard.Corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov

James “J.W.” Grant, R-Tampa

(850) 717-5064 • James.Grant@myfloridahouse.gov

Shawn Harrison, R-Tampa

(850) 717-5063 • Shawn.Harrison@myfloridahouse.gov

Blaise Ingoglia, R-Spring Hill

(850) 717-5035 • Blaise.Ingoglia@myfloridahouse.gov

Chris Latvala, R-Clearwater

(850) 717-5067 • Chris.Latvala@myfloridahouse.gov

Amber Mariano, R-Hudson

(850) 717-5036 • Amber.Mariano@myfloridahouse.gov

Ralph Massullo, R-Lecanto

(850) 717-5034 • Ralph.Massullo@myfloridahouse.gov

Lawrence McClure, R-Dover

(850) 717-5058 • Lawrence.McClure@myfloridahouse.gov

Kathleen Peters, R-Treasure Island

(850) 717-5069 • Kathleen.Peters@myfloridahouse.gov

Jake Raburn, R-Lithia

(850) 717-5057 • Jake.Raburn@myfloridahouse.gov

Ross Spano, R-Dover

(850) 717-5059 • Ross.Spano@myfloridahouse.gov

Chris Sprowls, R-Palm Harbor

(850) 717-5065 • Chris.Sprowls@myfloridahouse.gov

Jackie Toledo, R-Tampa

(850) 717-5060 • Jackie.Toledo@myfloridahouse.gov

The rest of Florida

Ben Albritton, R-Wauchula

(850) 717-5056 • Ben.Albritton@myfloridahouse.gov

Bryan Avila, R-Miami Springs

(850) 717-5111 • Bryan.Avila@myfloridahouse.gov

Michael Bileca, R-Miami

(850) 717-5115 • Michael.Bileca@myfloridahouse.gov

Jim Boyd, R-Bradenton

(850) 717-5071 • Jim.Boyd@myfloridahouse.gov

Jason Brodeur, R-Sanford

(850) 717-5028 • Jason.Brodeur@myfloridahouse.gov

Colleen Burton, R-Lakeland

(850) 717-5040 • Colleen.Burton@myfloridahouse.gov

Cord Byrd, R-Neptune Beach

(850) 717-5011 • Cord.Byrd@myfloridahouse.gov

Matt Caldwell, R-North Fort Myers

(850) 717-5079 • Matt.Caldwell@myfloridahouse.gov

Chuck Clemons, R-Newberry

(850) 717-5021 • Chuck.Clemons@myfloridahouse.gov

Bob Cortes, R-Altamonte Springs

(850) 717-5030 • Bob.Cortes@myfloridahouse.gov

Manny Diaz, R-Hialeah

(850) 717-5103 • Manny.Diaz@myfloridahouse.gov

Byron Donalds, R-Naples

(850) 717-5080 • Byron.Donalds@myfloridahouse.gov

Dane Eagle, R-Cape Coral

(850) 717-5077 • Dane.Eagle@myfloridahouse.gov

Jay Fant, R-Jacksonville

(850) 717-5015 • Jay.Fant@myfloridahouse.gov

Randy Fine, R-Palm Bay

(850) 717-5053 • Randy.Fine@myfloridahouse.gov

Jason Fischer, R-Jacksonville

(850) 717-5016 • Jason.Fischer@myfloridahouse.gov

Heather Fitzenhagen, R-Fort Myers

(850) 717-5078 • Heather.Fitzenhagen@myfloridahouse.gov

Julio Gonzalez, R-Venice

(850) 717-5074 • Julio.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov

Tom Goodson, R-Rockledge

(850) 717-5051 • Tom.Goodson@myfloridahouse.gov

Erin Grall, R-Vero Beach

(850) 717-5054 • Erin.Grall@myfloridahouse.gov

Michael Grant, R-Port Charlotte

(850) 717-5075 • Michael.Grant@myfloridahouse.gov

Joe Gruters, R-Sarasota

(850) 717-5073 • Joe.Gruters@myfloridahouse.gov

Bill Hager, R-Delray Beach

(850) 717-5089 • Bill.Hager@myfloridahouse.gov

Gayle Harrell, R-Stuart

(850) 717-5083 • Gayle.Harrell@myfloridahouse.gov

Clay Ingram, R-Pensacola

(850) 717-5001 • Clay.Ingram@myfloridahouse.gov

Sam Killebrew, R-Winter Haven

(850) 717-5041 • Sam.Killebrew@myfloridahouse.gov

Mike La Rosa, R-St. Cloud

(850) 717-5042 • Mike.LaRosa@myfloridahouse.gov

Tom Leek, R-Ormond Beach

(850) 717-5025 • Tom.Leek@myfloridahouse.gov

MaryLynn Magar, R-Tequesta

(850) 717-5082 • MaryLynn.Magar@myfloridahouse.gov

Stan McClain, R-Belleview

(850) 717-5023 • Stan.McClain@myfloridahouse.gov

Larry Metz, R-Yalaha

(850) 717-5032 • Larry.Metz@myfloridahouse.gov

Mike Miller, R-Winter Park

(850) 717-5047 • Mike.Miller@myfloridahouse.gov

Jeanette Nuñez, R-Miami

(850) 717-5119 • Jeanette.Nunez@myfloridahouse.gov

Jose Oliva, R-Miami Lakes

(850) 717-5110 • Jose.Oliva@myfloridahouse.gov

Bobby Olszewski, R-Winter Garden

(850) 717-5044 • Bobby.Olszewski@myfloridahouse.gov

Bobby Payne, R-Palatka

(850) 717-5019 • Bobby.Payne@myfloridahouse.gov

Daniel Perez, R-Miami

(850) 717-5116 • Daniel.Perez@myfloridahouse.gov

Cary Pigman, R-Avon Park

(850) 717-5055 • Cary.Pigman@myfloridahouse.gov

Scott Plakon, R-Longwood

(850) 717-5029 • Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov

Rene Plasencia, R-Orlando

(850) 717-5050 • Rene.Plasencia@myfloridahouse.gov

Mel Ponder, R-Destin

(850) 717-5004 • Mel.Ponder@myfloridahouse.gov

Elizabeth Porter, R-Lake City

(850) 717-5010 • Elizabeth.Porter@myfloridahouse.gov

Holly Raschein, R-Key Largo

(850) 717-5120 • Holly.Raschein@myfloridahouse.gov

Paul Renner, R-Palm Coast

(850) 717-5024 • Paul.Renner@myfloridahouse.gov

Ray Rodrigues, R-Estero

(850) 717-5076 • Ray.Rodrigues@myfloridahouse.gov

Bob Rommel, R-Naples

(850) 717-5106 • Bob.Rommel@myfloridahouse.gov

Rick Roth, R-Loxahatchee

(850) 717-5085 • Rick.Roth@myfloridahouse.gov

David Santiago, R-Deltona

(850) 717-5027 • David.Santiago@myfloridahouse.gov

Cyndi Stevenson, R-St. Johns

(850) 717-5017 • Cyndi.Stevenson@myfloridahouse.gov

Charlie Stone, R-Ocala

(850) 717-5022 • Charlie.Stone@myfloridahouse.gov

Jennifer Sullivan, R-Mount Dora

(850) 717-5031 • Jennifer.Sullivan@myfloridahouse.gov

Carlos Trujillo, R-Miami

(850) 717-5105 • Carlos.Trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov

Jay Trumbull, R-Panama City

(850) 717-5006 • Jay.Trumbull@myfloridahouse.gov

Frank White, R-Pensacola

(850) 717-5002 • Frank.White@myfloridahouse.gov

Jayer Williamson, R-Pace

(850) 717-5003 • Jayer.Williamson@myfloridahouse.gov

Clay Yarborough, R-Jacksonville

(850) 717-5012 • Clay.Yarborough@myfloridahouse.gov

FOR KIDS

Tampa Bay legislators

Janet Cruz, D-Tampa

(850) 717-5062 • Janet.Cruz@myfloridahouse.gov

Ben Diamond, D-St. Petersburg

(850) 717-5068 • Ben.Diamond@myfloridahouse.gov

Wengay “Newt” Newton, D-St. Petersburg

(850) 717-5070 • Newt.Newton@myfloridahouse.gov

Sean Shaw, D-Tampa

(850) 717-5061 • Sean.Shaw@myfloridahouse.gov

The rest of Florida

Ramon Alexander, D-Tallahassee

(850) 717-5008 • Ramon.Alexander@myfloridahouse.gov

Robert Asencio, D-Miami

(850) 717-5118 • Robert.Asencio@myfloridahouse.gov

Loranne Ausley, D-Tallahassee

(850) 717-5009 • Loranne.Ausley@myfloridahouse.gov

Lori Berman, D-Lantana

(850) 717-5090 • Lori.Berman@myfloridahouse.gov

Kamia Brown, D-Ocoee

(850) 717-5045 • Kamia.Brown@myfloridahouse.gov

John Cortes, D-Kissimmee

(850) 717-5043 • John.Cortes@myfloridahouse.gov

Kimberly Daniels, D-Jacksonville

(850) 717-5014 • Kimberly.Daniels@myfloridahouse.gov

Tracie Davis, D-Jacksonville

(850) 717-5013 • Tracie.Davis@myfloridahouse.gov

Bobby DuBose, D-Fort Lauderdale

(850) 717-5094 • Bobby.DuBose@myfloridahouse.gov

Nicholas Duran, D-Miami

(850) 717-5112 • Nicholas.Duran@myfloridahouse.gov

Katie Edwards-Walpole, D-Plantation

(850) 717-5098 • Katie.Edwards@myfloridahouse.gov

Joseph Geller, D-Aventura

(850) 717-5100 • Joseph.Geller@myfloridahouse.gov

Margaret Good, D-Sarasota

(850) 717-5072 • Margaret.Good@myfloridahouse.gov

Roy Hardemon, D-Miami

(850) 717-5108 • Roy.Hardemon@myfloridahouse.gov

Patrick Henry, D-Daytona Beach

(850) 717-5026 • Patrick.Henry@myfloridahouse.gov

Kristin Jacobs, D-Coconut Creek

(850) 717-5096 • Kristin.Jacobs@myfloridahouse.gov

Evan Jenne, D-Dania Beach

(850) 717-5099 • Evan.Jenne@myfloridahouse.gov

Shevrin Jones, D-West Park

(850) 717-5101 • Shevrin.Jones@myfloridahouse.gov

Larry Lee Jr., D-Port St. Lucie

(850) 717-5084 • Larry.Lee@myfloridahouse.gov

Kionne McGhee, D-Miami

(850) 717-5117 • Kionne.McGhee@myfloridahouse.gov

Amy Mercado, D-Orlando

(850) 717-5048 • Amy.Mercado@myfloridahouse.gov

Sharon Pritchett, D-Miami Gardens

(850) 717-5102 • Sharon.Pritchett@myfloridahouse.gov

David Richardson, D-Miami Beach

(850) 717-5113 • David.Richardson@myfloridahouse.gov

Barrington “Barry” Russell, D-Lauderdale Lakes

(850) 717-5095 • Barrington.Russell@myfloridahouse.gov

Emily Slosberg, D-Boca Raton

(850) 717-5091 • Emily.Slosberg@myfloridahouse.gov

Carlos Guillermo Smith, D-Orlando

(850) 717-5049 • Carlos.Smith@myfloridahouse.gov

Cynthia Stafford, D-Miami

(850) 717-5109 • Cynthia.Stafford@myfloridahouse.gov

Richard Stark, D-Weston

(850) 717-5104 • Richard.Stark@myfloridahouse.gov

Barbara Watson, D-Miami Gardens

(850) 717-5107 • Barbara.Watson@myfloridahouse.gov

Clovis Watson, D-Alachua

(850) 717-5020 • Clovis.Watson@myfloridahouse.gov

Matt Willhite, D-Wellington

(850) 717-5086 • Matt.Willhite@myfloridahouse.gov

Patricia Williams, D-Lauderdale Lakes

(850) 717-5092 • Pat.Williams@myfloridahouse.gov